Bichon.ca - Bichon Frise Community
June 17, 2019, 03:50:10 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
flufflove   Touch a Bichon, and you have touched a bit of Heaven
Hold a Bichon, and you have held the world
Love a Bichon, and you will love life forever
   flufflove

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: ELgin and eyes  (Read 8423 times)
elgin

« on: July 31, 2013, 06:16:20 PM »

Crying Hi as i am new to these delicious fluffys i was wondering if any of you lovely people could answer a couple of questions.
How do all your lovely fluffys have nice eyes, Elgings are very stained underneath, can i prevent this.? Also i feed him twice a day in the morning he has natures diet wet food and at tea time he has dried. He does seem to have a lot of poos, is this normal, sorry if i sound daft lol. crazy.Thankyou.
Freedom (Sandie)
Methuen, MA, USA
Super G.O.D.

Methuen, MA, USA

« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 08:21:40 PM »

These are the things which help prevent tear stains:
- grain free food and treats
- food and treats with no beets, no tomato
- stainless steel bowls for food and water
- filtered water.  Depending upon your water source, you may need to buy distilled water.  Some water is very high in iron and other minerals.  What goes in must come out, and some of it comes out via the tear ducts.
- puppies will have tear stains until they stop teething and have all their adult teeth; this is at about age 8 months.  Until then, just gently wipe the eyes daily.
- while some folks use Angel Eyes, be cautious.  This contains low dose antibiotics.  Use it long term and the dog can become immune to the antibiotic, which is a problem when the dog gets sick and need antibiotics.

I know you are in UK; I can't remember the food brands for your country.  I do know Denes is a high quality food:  http://denes.co.uk/dog-food